Retirement savings

KiwiSaver is the only retirement savings scheme option in which new State-sector employees can enrol and receive an employer contribution.

Some employees may already belong to other State-sector retirement savings schemes, and they may continue to do so when transferring from one school to another; however these are closed to new employees.


To manage KiwiSaver for your school’s employees, see:

For more detailed information about KiwiSaver, see:

Back to top

Other State-sector retirement savings schemes

The following State-sector employees' retirement savings schemes are operating, but are closed to new members:

  • State Sector Retirement Savings Scheme
  • Teachers Retirement Savings Scheme
  • Government Superannuation Fund
  • National Provident Fund
  • Individual Retirement Plan

Related links

How to:


We welcome your Feedback on the information in this section.

Back to top